Thursday, February 25, 2010

The Lighthouse: Liveblog

Back Again! It's great when you miss episodes cause then you don't have to wait long for new ones. And duh, spoilers. Here we go:

previously, on Lost: lots of stuff. It's kinda making me feel like the last three episodes were pointless and Ithat nothing at all happened. Good times.

AND computer freeze. Sigh.Well that is a nice photo of Jack and Dad. Also Jack, whatever happened to your neck? Oh, you have another scar? Or wound? Can't be good. Apendicitis? Didn't that happpen on the island? Juliet did it? It was a weird plot twist that I didn't much care for? Yeah, think so.

Damn Jack you look good. But who the fuck is David? Your son? OMG JACK IF YOURE MARRIED TO JULIET IMMA BE PISSED>


"Is leaving an option?" Stupid Jack. Um, awesome forest tic-tac-tow game. LOVE Miles and Hurley. LOVE them.OH he Jacob.Like so much.

Wow that was an intensely informative teaser.

Hey David. Sup. You look like Jack with long hair. Also you're moping like jack mopes. AND HES STILL A SOX FAN. So at least we know it isnt bizarro land. Yay Alice in Wonderland reference!!! Ouch, David is amn ass.J

Ooo sayid. Are you evil yet??

EWWWWWW Jin's foot. Ewwwwwwwww gross. Claire looks like a pineer. um still ew. still really ew.STILL EW. Jin, gross.

Hurley, you would write on your arm. So while he's looking, who do you think is coming to the island? Who is not there? Also I love new Hurley. SO MUCH. Anyone speak Japanese? Jacob apparently.

Aw Jacob are you going to tell jack that he has to save someone?
Or his dad? Or Claire? AWWW. you have what it takes? That's precious, probably. It's jack-childhood time, I think.

Owie Jin. owie owie owie. AND EW. Lost stop with the blood, please. Um, wow, Claire is CRAZY. Wow. fake- baby? shit shit shit. WEIRD WEIRD WEIRD.

Um, how is that guy not dead? was he not shot in the head? Claire don't manhandle justin! Wow you really are Rousseau. Interesting fact: Claire is also a french name. What's her last name in lost-land? Aw, Hurley is going to be sad.

Wow diss by kate-- JAck is rejected. Also, Jack, lesson number one: you live on a magic island. Lesson number two: when living on said magic island, follow the directions of mysterious invisible men. Usually. Lesson number three: ignore Kate.

Ohh will time!!!! Guess: Jack gets nothing. Claire gets everything. CORRECT! HOPE FOR THE WIN. +100 LOST points.

Justin I'm not liking you. EW EW GROSS CLOSEUP ON THE WOUND. EWEW AGAIN. Poor hurt Jin. So who's the friend? Man in Black? Claire please don't disembowel Justin.

Ew look at all the bugs in the shot with Hurley and jack. Ick. Jack stop having daddy issues. WOW an inhalor. Shannons? OH THE CAVES. EW DEAD BODIES. SDon't be so nonchalant about them, Hurley. Also your time travel theories are confusing, but wrong. OH RIGHT you saw Dr. Shepard. Aka... what? Who is it now? Jack your daddy issues are kinda boring. Let's go back to Claire.

So pause: Locke is clearly different from Shepard and Claire because his body is still around whereas the other two's bodies are missing. Hm, so what gives?

So, question: who's the mother? Aw Jack are you a good dad? That would be sweet. HAH Hurley. Old school: traipsing through the jungle, on our way to do something we don't understand, good times. AKA my favorite line thus far.

Hurley why're you wearing a red shirt? Dislike. Just a side note as Jack is about to give some stupid speech about how much he hates the island. OOO new statue!!! ... Or a lighthouse. Good question Jack. So the lighthouse is the room of requirement?

Um Jin? You going to say something? Ohhhh branded, huh? Uh oh. UH OH. Jin? Jin, you're not explaining this well. Can you say how Kate found him abandoned and couldn't find you? No? Not going to happen? ... K.

UM EW LOST WHY THE BLOOD AND THE CHOPPING?!?!

Dude Jack that was awesome. You should kick down doors more, it suits you.Also if you fuck this up for your son, seriously, it just means Cuse and Lindleson hate you fo realz. Little boy I find you CREEPY AND ITS THE WEIRD JAPANESE GU. THE PONYTAIL IS A DEAD GIVEAWAY. WEIRD WEIRD WEIRD.

Dude this set is awesome. Also the names are weird. And the mirror is weird. This is a little overwrought, no? Whole whole reflection thing? Very disney. Also very harry potter, whats the name of that mirror? yeah, harry potter. Jack, it's just a magic figure, I don't know how he knows things but he does. Um, k, Jack is STUPID. But then I think Jacob must have known he was going to do that, unless he's stupid too. Which of course is a possibility. and with that bit, I think we've seen all there is in the original trailer for the season. Nice.

Jack don't yell at your son, please. Or guilt-trip him. Your son will do that enough for you without your help. This is mildylcute, though. Shepard-love and all. Jack, you don't suck as a dad, look! and you're a hot dad... cause that's relevent to this scene, I promise...

Aw Hurley you have pen on your face. JINX JACOB JINX! THAT WAS AWESOME. +10000 POINTS!!!! Awesome. Awesome. Jacob, you couldn't have told Locke how important he was? I think that II like the man in black better....

HEY LOCKE WHATS UP!!! You're the friend. DUHZVILLE.

Hm, this episode. So, I actually kind of liked it. A lot of it was obvious, but I liked it! I don't know, I guess it was nothing more than an entertaining hour of TV. I don't feel particularly bad or good about it. And I guess "meh" isn't that good. But I love Hurley. Also, Lost, please actually USE Miles instead of just having him be asian Hurley. But then, rereading what I wrote, I disliked parts-- the lighthouse itself, the magic mirror, jack's self absorbtion and silly rants... hmm. Maybe it was crummy afterall. Not, but still. I can't defend it as being good, but it was was inoffensive. Come on, Claire was awesome.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Liveblogging: Lighthouse

Spoilers follow, and since I didn't open this window until one second before the first big twist, they follow fairly immediately.

WTF JACK HAS A SON?!?! NAMED DAVID?!?! LIKE DESMOND'S MIDDLE NAME DAVID??!? WHO'S THE MOTHER? IS IT SARAH? IS IT KATE. OH GOD I HOPE IT'S KATE OVER SARAH. OMG IN THIS UNIVERSE WAS HE MARRIED TO KATE INSTEAD OF HER BEING MAREID TO NATHAN FILLION....no he would have recognized Kate on the plane, right? It must be Sarah's kid.

Oh oh it's back!

Awww, Jack and his red sox love. Seriously, who IS this kid? SERIOUSLY. Lost, why are you so good at being so mind-bending?

Uh oh Sayid. You're gonna get sick. Like, really not good sick. Evil sick.

CLAIRE! You look so rugged. (Also: Jin totally was in the last episode getting caught by Claire's trap, so the nymag reporter who interviewed Daniel Dae Kim and claimed he wasn't was totally wrong.)

Claire doesn't seem particularly evil!

UH OH, JIN JUST COLLAPSED. Not good not good not good.

Huurley, I'm gonna go with stop staring at the hieroglyphics and do whatever Jacob says. Even though I don't trust Jacob. Hahaha, Hurley "You know, 'cuz I'm a big fan of temples...and like, history....Indiana Jones stuff."

See? Here's you doing whatever Jacob says. Jacob looks so unamused right now that I like him even less then I did when I wrote the above paragraph. At the minute, I'm pro-man in black. I'm so gonna regret saying that at some point, though.

Jack. You're.... you're so Jack. I miss Sawyer. And Juliet. And Locke.

Hahaha that's right Jack. MAGIC ISLAND. Learn to embrace it.

Uh oh. Claire's ANGRY. She still doesn't seem EVIL, though. Claire really is Rousseau, only in Rousseau's case, they really WERE hiding her daughter. Claire's son is safe with her mother....

Claire's not alone? Is she with Christian Shephard? I'm scared. Very scared.

Kate! I fully support you in your quest to find Claire, especially because you know where Aaron really is!

JACK YOUR'E FINDING OUT THAT CLAIRE IS YOUR SISTER IN THIS REALITY TOO!!!

Ew, Claire, your hair is ick. I know that's not the point, just saying.

Your....father? Your....friend? Who are you talking about? IS JACK'S DAD THE SICKNESS? AHHHH THIS IS SO WEIRD CLAIRE I'M SORRY BUT PLEASE DON'T HURT THE INNOCENT GUY WHO DOESN'T HAVE YOUR SON AHHHHHHHH.

Jack: "I'd make a terrible dad" I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE, LOST WRITERS.

Shannon's asthma inhaler? Well that's a blast from the past. UM CAN WE GET BACK TO CHARACTERS I CARE ABOUT PLEASE? ....hahahaha I love Hurley's theory. "What if we traveled back to like, dinosaur times, and then we died and got buried here. What if these skeletons are us?"

OH YOU FOUND THAT PLACE FOLLOWING YOUR DAD. WHO IS APPARENTLY THE SICKNESS. WTF DOES THAT MEAN.

I would like to repeat my earlier "I see what you did there, lost writers" comment re: Jack calling his son's cellphone.

OMG HE'S GOING TO THE MOTHER'S HOUSE. CAN IT BE KATE AND NOT SARAH? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE? ...I know that doesn't make any sense. Oh god it's gonna be someone totally unexpected, isn't it. It's gonna be like....Juliet. Someone TOTALLY unexpected. ...um, can we have a hint, Lost writers? Please? Aww Chopin! Good choice, Lost writers. AWWWWWWW he has pictures of him and Jack!

Hurley, I love it when you self-referentially make fun of the show. It's always funny.

Yeah....I'm not loving Jack in this episode.

......wtf is that? The statue/building thing? LIGHTHOUSE. IT'S A LIGHTHOUSE.

"How is it we've never seen it before?" "I guess we weren't looking for it." "That, or the writer's didn't realize that they were going to need it."

Okay, Claire is seeming a little bit more evil.

Aaaand we're back!

Haha @ Jack's "doesn't say anything on your arm about the door being jammed?"

Wow, Jack's kid is talented. I wanna say he's Dan Faraday's kid, only obviously that doesn't make any sense whatsoever.


Well that dude is clearly island dude. Yup. Island dude. I'm not a fan of Island Dude.

SERIOUSLY WHO IS THE MOTHER? THIS IS DRIVING ME INSANE.

Hey it's like How I Met Your Mother, only....it's Lost.

Teehee, 108 degrees. Crossed out names on the wheel? Wtf?

Jack is putting this together awfully quickly.

.....ohhhh Jack. This is exactly why I'm not your biggest fan. Do you KNOW how much you're going to regret that later? Also, that was SO IMPULSIVE AND SO NOT THOUGHT OUT AHEAD. AREN'T YOU SUPPOSED TO BE A DOCTOR? DIDNT' THEY TEACH YOU HOW TO THINK BEFORE ACTING? ....I guess we had whole flashback episodes about him accidentally cutting the wrong things, but STILL. Quit being SO ANGRY. You CHOSE to come back to the island and even as a confused, manipulated pawn in a game you don't understand, you're STILL doing better than you were back home being suicidal after you lost Kate. So PLEASE CHILL THE FRAK OUT.

Okay, this V trailer that's Inara/Anna being like "we share in your excitement for the final season of Lost" is pretty cool, gotta admit.

Jack, please find your kid. Awwww yay bonding moment!

Okay, here's what I want from this episode: I want to find out who the mother is, and I want Alternatereality!Jack to meet Alternatereality!Claire.

Uh oh....why do I think that Claire is gonna destroy the temple? With Sayid in it? WtFRAK IS GOING ON. Uh oh, Jin is so screwed right now. I'm scared.

Um, Claire, please don't kill Kate! WTF NOT!LOCKE????

YOU'RE CLAIRE'S FRIEND? WTF???????

ALSO WE DIDN'T FIND OUT WHO JACK'S KID'S MOTHER IS. I'M UPSET. BLEH.

Not a huge fan of this episode, it was nowhere near as good as the last few have been. Still good, though! I'm excited for next week!

Scott's Belated "The Substitute" Post

I'm a week late with this so I'm going to make it short (apologies! )

I loved this episode. I loved how much it made me love Locke, I loved how much it made me love Sawyer, I loved how it didn't show Juliet's death again (which would have been a total 8 times, although Sawyer being sad and throwing the ring into the ocean was kind of just as devastating. If the two of them don't end up together in alternate reality universe, I'm going to cry. Literally).

I love that Locke is happy in alternate universe land! He has Helen! He doesn't have an evil father! He has a job as a high school substitute at a high school where Ben also teaches! (The plot thickens).

I understand why Locke/Helen chose to tear up Jack's business card, but I'm kind of upset, because that storyline would have been AWESOME. (Although maybe it's not over, we'll have to wait and see.) That said, Alternateuniverse!Locke would have gone, I think, because he would have wanted to take a leap of faith in hope of a cure. Of course, Alternateuniverse!Locke also alienated Helen and had a horrible life, so I shouldn't complain.

Random observation: Is it just me, or are the episodes so far following the characters in the same order that season one did? (Like, started with general flashback, followed by Kate-centric, followed by Locke-centric) I glanced at imdb and it looks like it's going to continue like that for a while, but maybe I'm wrong. Anyone?

Saturday, February 20, 2010

The Substitute: Liveblog and Thoughts

Next episode! Spoilers if you're Scott and are too busy producing a show to watch Lost.

ooh, the teaser is making me think that boone might be in this episode! well, i can dream right?

Oh, poor Locke. A broken van and sprinklers?? Why do they have to humiliate him like this??

AWWWWW HELEN! Does this mean that Locke is happy?! Oh I hope so.

Woah smoke monster moves fast. Please leave sawyer alone. please. um, thanks?

Wait, so maybe locke isn't happy...

JESUS WHO IS THAT CHILD?!?!?!?! Lost, i'm watching this alone in my room, don't be scary and bloody please.

Ben!! HI!! Don't lie. Nor Jacob nor anyone else will like that, it can't be good for you. Dude, I'm pretty excited about sawyer joining not-locke. Epic.

"Here's to being dead!" Love you sawyer. Thank you for FINALLY REALIZING that you live on a GOD DAMN MAGIC ISLAND.

Um, EW dead locke witb a giant spider on your head. ewwww. And thank you sun for wanting to bury locke. thank you someone for realizing that Locke MEANT something and WAS important.

Rose! Sorry for a big gap in my summarizing, I got distracted by the plot.

Of Mice and Men? fitting.

Wow, the graveyard. Well placed! It proves to Ilana that maybe the survivors did go through something, I think I like it, well done Lost.

"Man of Faith." Thank you Ben for realizing that Locke was a great man, dammit. Also I love Frank. But why is he here?

I think that Locke is not very happy in this life either, especially once Helen finds out that he lied. Or maybe not? Aw, this is so sweet.

Um Lost? Remember our agreement that Sawyer doesn't die? Well i'm terrified of ladders, so let's make a deal that Sawyer doesn't die AND it's not on a ladder. OR the rope ladder. SHITSHITSHITSHIT. Well that was terrifying.

Lol at the inside joke comment.

Um what? Jacob's list. With the numbers? WHAT?

BEN WHAT BEN WHAT BEN WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?! WHAT THE FUCK! You would be an ASShole of a teacher, and teach european history.

Anyone else thinking about Buffy and the potentials??

Lol at the thing for numbers. Wait, so the sun and jin numbers might be wrong? Also why is Locke's name not crossed out? Also why isn't Kate's name on the list? Miles? Jin/Sun? Or is that just a mistake? Um, also how did jacob manipulate sawyer when he was so young?

Okay, so this was kind of a bad liveblog, but I think that's because I liked this episode a LOT. A lot a lot. I love Locke, so that helps. And I love when LOST is funny and makes stupid jokes. And when Ben has great lines, and his eulogy was some of the best.

And with that, I remember why I liked this show so goddamn much.

What Kate Does: Liveblog and Thoughts

okay, so because of my 10-day vacation, I'm two episodes behind. So again a double post from this side of the ocean. As always, spoilers, but not really cause it's two weeks old.

Also my computer is making a horrible whirring noise? Hm, can't be good, especially when there is not a single apple store in France. Yes, all of France. The closest one is in switzerland.

So, LOST:

Thank god you didn't show Juliet dyin AGAIN in the recap. But we do get to watch Sayid die. GOD I missed Lost.

Ooo cool necklace japanese guy. Also, I think sayid is no longer sayid which makes me sad.Ddi yuo just call KJAck John? rewind! Answer: No.

Also, I'm eating dinner as I watch this, so I'm not going to be writing as much. HEY CLAIRE!! Are you pregnant? KAte don't be mean to Claire.Wow, Kate, your escape attempt kind of sucks. I think i said this last time too. Poor Claire. Who is indeed pregnant. Oh hey, Sayid's wound is gone.

myles! i hope you get an episode this season.

Oooo maybe sayid living means that Jacob is still kind of alive!!

FUCK YEAH SAWYER. LOVE YOU. aww you're so sad. please dont die. Either real-dead of locke-dead OR sayid-dead. Stay con

OMG! THAT GUY! Wait, that guy died. I thought it was one of the mercenaries. Neeever mind

Wait, do you think this episode will make me like Kate? Shit, it might. THATS RIGHT YOU SHOULD FEEL BAD STEALING FROM A PREGNANT LADY.

I'm liking Jack a bit more too. Not sure why, exactly, just somehow is powerlessness is endearing.

Aaaaand here's the torture scene? White ash? Are they expelling the smoke demon from him? Or just... hurting him? STOP BEING SILENT JAPANESE MAN!!! Jesus, STOP HURTING SAYID. You're making me use too many capital letters.

Soooo, I guess it really is Sayid and not the smoke monster? In that case, whaaaaat?

Wait, what? Kate, don't try to make nice with the lady whose head you held a gun to. I love Claire. I forgot how much i loved claire.

Wow, the others extras are going to die. Justin, you're my new favorite.

Um, I am loving the idea that extras are coming back. Also, bye bye Justin. Too bad, you might have said something useful, but no.

Infected? Oh Jack, a fever? really? have you ever, oh i don't know, LIVED ON A MAGICAL ISLAND???

This all seems very alice in wonderland to me. Maybe that's just what magic pills make me think of.

Also, I believe the others. But then, I've ALWAYS believed the others. kinda.

Aw, see jack, people DO trust you. I apparently trust everyone, seeing as I trust the others.

Also the Claire and Kate thing is weird. Aaand my itunes froze? Dammit. Okay, it's back. Poor Claire. Keep yo baby aaron, please.

aw, kate, i might kind of like you. Aw, poor claire and poor random woman. oh shit, oh shit, WAIT AWW KATE IS STILL GOING TO DELIVER YOUR BABY AWWW.

poor sawyer. wait, am i supposed to know what that thing in the shoebox is?

AWWWW AARON!! She knew the name. Aw, little guy.

Is dr. goodspeed someone i should know? OH WAIT ITS ETHAN. RIGHT? I think so. So Juliet is off the island too, right? None of it EVER happened, including the dharma initative? Wait I'm confused.

Aw, sawyer. god i forgot you are such a good actor. Oh, so that's what was in the box. Poor sawyer, this is horrible.

JAck, I wish you didn't walk away all the time. But then almost swallowing the pill was kind of baller. So why do they want sayid dead?

Aw claire, you are SO CUTE. you're giving a fugitive your credit card.

Claimed? So sayid is the smoke monster too. Boo. God dammit Lost, you can't do this to my favorite characters. they don't deserve to die like this.

AW CLAIRE. You've been claimed? Bummer.

OW Jin. Ow.

Woah. WOAH. CLAIRE? WHAT IS REAL?

Oh wait, it totally makes sense. Whatever's "claimed" claire also claimed rousseau, so rousseau's traps are actually claire's traps.

So I really liked this episode; it was a nice change of pace from LAX. That one was way too much stuff and information and mystery but nothing about the characters. Reading Scott's thoughts, I agree it was very season one. Also, it went a long way at making me like kate, which is hard to do. And Jack seems to be important to the island and to everyone else, which feels right. It's where I think the series needs to go. For me, jack has always been the foundation of the show.

Okay, next episode!

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

What Kate Does

As always, spoiler alerts if you live in France and haven't seen the episode yet.

Okay, not gonna lie, this episode was AWESOME.

It felt like Lost season 1- the flash sideways feel like flashbacks, and they made me care about the characters again. (Poor Claire! And Kate! You are likable again!)

Actually, I find Kate likable in any situations where she's interacting with either Claire or Aaron. Or Claire's mother. I was about to say "actually, with anyone related to Claire," but I guess that includes Jack and I don't find Kate particularly likable when she's in scenes with Jack, despite my supporting them as a couple.

Anyway, it felt like season 1--the flashes made me cry, there were two relatively slow moving plots that were easy to follow (I mean ish, it is Lost, after all)--the Jack/Sayid/to take the pill or not plot and the Kate/Sawyer plot (honestly, did anyone think Kate wasn't going to follow Sawyer from the second he announced he was leaving? No one? Yup that's what I thought....although actually the show knew it was predictable too and responded accordingly, with Sawyer's snarky "which time?" when Kate apologized for coming after him when she shouldn't have.), and it ended with a plot twist--Claire has the sickness! And looks like Rousseau! Whose traps also featured prominently in this episode! Yay shout outs to season one and two!

Seriously, amazing episode. I can't wait for next week (although I always tend to like Kate-centric episodes the best, along with Sawyer and Juliet ones, so we'll see who flashes next week and how it compares. I should probably know whose flash it is from somewhere like lostpedia but whatever. I will figure it out.)

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Real Thoughts: LAX pt. 1 and 2

Bonjour! It's Steve, blogging form France. So after a very upsetting 48-odd hours in which my iTunes season pass ONLY DOWNLOADED PART TWO AND WOULDN'T LET ME GET PART ONE AND I HAD TO WAIT UNTIL THURSDAY TO WATCH THIS, I finally am caught up. Ahem. It was a stressful period.

Hm. So I have to say I was a little disappointed. I found these episodes to be, more or less, two hours of pointless exposition. The first hour, especially, I felt could have been condensed into maybe 20 minutes. A few camera shots around the plane, the scene with Charlie-- would we really have missed much else? I would've missed Arzt. And, according to nymag, I missed Frogurt, too.

I was also disappointed with the way they did Juliet's death. On principle, I hate the "i have something important to tell you but whoops I'd dead now" line. It just felt cheap and not worthwhile. It was just a little to cliché and neat-- she dies right after Sawyer kisses her? Meh. I guess part of it was that we saw her "die" (hit the bomb) about SIX TIMES before she actually died, so the emotion just wasn't there.

I agree with Scott that the best scene by FAR was of Locke and Jack in the airport. It was nice to see the show realize that these two characters are the ones we're rooting for, and hopefully this hints that the show will return to this. I kind of saw this scene as showing just how far Jack rose (right after the crash) and now has fallen back (the plan didn't work, trying to revive Sayid, etc.).

As far as the man in black not being a villain, I agree. I think the show has really moved past good and bad. I think that's what the black/white, good/evil divide will boil down to: there are no such harsh divisions in life. Your life has paths, and there are good things and bad things along each the way no matter what you do.

Another word on Locke. I think my live blog showed just how much I LOVE Locke as a character. But I will be incredibly disappointed if they do not give Real Locke some kind of closure. I cried through "The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham"-- Locke was just alone, back in a wheelchair, refused by all his friends. Then he dies, confused and alone? No no no. I don't want that to be the last time we see Real Locke.

Not incidentally, if Terry O'Quinn doesn't get an emmy, there are no gods, Egyptian or otherwise.

LAX pt. 2

Incoherent Liveblog of LAX pt. 2

Daylight again? Oh God, I can’t watch Sawyer bury Juliet. OR Sayid.

OH maybe they can save Juliet? Oh, maybe not. OH GOOD IDEA SAWYER, Myles can help. Miles. Myles? Myles looks better. Ohh memories of watching Lost in Myles! Awww.

Um, doesn’t the smoke monster come out of there? Also, in the trailer the asian man tortures Sayid in the temple. Just sayin’ maybe it’s not a good idea.

Awww dead cute Frenchman. HAH Hurley. Is that the hole Ben fell into? OR is this a different temple?

…whispers…

I also forgot how stressful Lost is. WHISPERSWHISPERS KATE. Um, Kate??? Whaaaaaaaaat is going on. You also shouldn’t split up like this. Have you never seen a horror movie? Honestly people. Hurly, open that guitar case please.

HI BEN. Oh, in slow rewind, verified: Not Ben.

Kate, what are you doing? Seriously, Kate? Really?

Woah. God, that guy dies any way, doesn’t he.

Heeeeyyyy Sawyer. God, I LOVE you. Always. No matter what. Aw, I love you SO much.

Others? Guess so? Or a monestary of Jacob followers? Guessing there’s a third group on the island?

Oooh I BET CHRISTIAN SHEPAD IS LIKE A GOD OR SOMETHING. OO IS CLAIRE GOING TO BE AROUND?

WOAH! Stewardess?? WHAT?

Dude. Please let the note say “They’re with me."

I love new confident Hugo. I’ll call him Hugo.

Are these the people that Jacob touched?

Aw, I hate old Jin. Does Sun speak English? I can’t remember. Ohhhhhh, JIN. Sun does speak English, doesn’t she. Aw, Sun.

What the HELL is going on. Monestary? There are children. And a third God? OH I get it. This is a healing spring, that’s what healed Rose, Locke, there’s a cult of everlasting life because of a magic spring. It’s the fountain of youth. Way to mis EVERY MYTHOLOGY EVER LOST. What’s next, Cinderella?

Haha Jack you would answer Hurley’s rhetorical question.

I’m so confused, Lost. You also just killed my two favorite characters in the span of 40 minutes. If you kill Sawyer I--

Jack, sweetheart, the CPR on Sayid was really endearing. I’m so sorry for you right now.

Kate seriously you didn’t just take the cab from the random extra? Cause REALLY? Actually, you totally would do that. Way to be an awesome and crappy criminal at the same time.

CLAIRE! YAY!

Zach! Emma! Are these the Others? AW Sawyer!!! SERIOUSLY LOST IF YOU HURT SAWYER.

God Hurley, I looooooove you.

Okay, doesn’t the giant flare also kinda show your position? Maybe?

Teehee New-Locke. “I’m not a what Ben, I’m a who!”

Aw I REALLY miss Locke. I HATE New-Locke. Stop using his body. Locke was a great man.

Okay, so the monster didn’t attack Locke that one time, and also didn’t attack Eko that one other time. What’s up with that? Think they’ll explain?

Sideways flash. Weird. Really weird. AW Jack. Jack, meet John.

Oh, my, God. If Richard Alpert dies, I am going to FREAK THE FUCK OUT.

Chains? Jacob chains in the cabin chains? Or Egyptian slave chains?!

RICHARD ALPERT! LOST SERIOUSLY THESE ARE MY FAVORITES. Okay I know he might be just knocked out but seriously not acceptable. There are too many dead Losties on the island.

Oh, Jack, stop asking for it.

Um, um, UM WHAT.

Okay, questions. Where is Christian Shepard? Where is Claire? Who is the glasses- man? Where is Desmond? Is Juliet really dead? I thought she had 4 episodes…

Is Hurley new-Jacob?

Also, I REALLY miss Locke. I do think he was (is) one of the most interesting characters, and I hope his character development hasn’t been totally given up just for the plot. It just doesn’t seem fair.

ALSO, way to fuck up Juliet’s death. It was just so cheesy and… I don’t know. It felt unnecessary. Couldn’t she just have died and Miles could’ve still “read” her body? Or… I don’t know. Thoughts?

I was also severely underwhelmed by the first hour of this. It was just like… exposition! Look everyone, they’re still alive! Their world sucks!!

So is Sayid really dead? Or is he now Not-Sayid like Not-Locke? Via trailer Sayid is alive, cause he’s gonna get tortured

LAX pt. 1

Okay, incoherent lost recap for LAX pt. 1, to be followed by incoherent LAX pt. 2 recap. Spoilers if you haven't seen, duh.

Watching the previously on lost. Don’t really want to Watch juliet die again, please.

WHITE SCREEN. Forgot how exciting that was.

Woah. ?

Damn jack looks good in high definition.

AHHH This is SO weird. SO weird.

Okay also watching this is really making me not want to fly ever again.

Good thing watching it late—REWIND! What did Rose say? You’ve got to go now? Nope, just the same, you can let go now.

Also does this mean that Rose and Bernard aren’t on the island any more with the dog? I miss that. Also does Rose still have cancer now? Wiat this is bad. Boo.

WHAT IS THAT JACK. JACK WHAT.

HI DESMOND. WHY ARE YOU HERE? You were never here. I am so confused. How many times am I going to say that this episode?

Uuuunderwater. Dory fish!

And the island sunk? It’s Atlantis? Oh lost, I forgot how BAD your CGI is.

God, Juliet has to die again? Haven’t we been tortured enough?

JUUULIET!!!! Oh no, it’s Kate. IN a tree. Sounding muffled. Is that her or the computer? … Her.

Oh hey miles!! WOAH.

OMG SAWYER. Oh it’s Jack. What is my problem with identifying characters??

Okay, question. How are they not all dead from the blast?

OH HEY SAWYER! Good for you! Thanks for hitting Jack. I think he kind of needed it.

This is weird. I dislike the parallel universe thing. A lot.

HI BIZARRO SAWYER. You look better not covered in blood. You look really good.

OH it’s that guy. What was his name? ARZT. Good thing I spent HOURS on Lostpedia this week.

Hurley! Are the numbers no longer cursed? … I guess so. What bizzaro land is this? Is Sawyer like a saint or something?

OMG I FORGOT SAYID GOT SHOT. IS HE DEAD? WHAT?

Thanks Sawyer for asking the question I asked before.

OMG JULIET! JULIET!!!!! JUUUUUUULIET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! JULIETPLEASEDONTBEDEADEVER.

Also Sayid. Both of you can’t die. SAYID YOU CANT DIE. Aw Hurley, you’re adorable. Please be Jacob. YES I WIN!!!!!! +100 Lostpoints.

God I love watching this without commercials.

Awww, I hope Jin and Sun are happy in this life. Guess not. So basically, who’s life wasn’t better by being on the island?

HEY LOCKE. BOONE!!!!!!! Is this jocular Locke or old Locke? Can you walk? So is Shannon not on the plane? That cause Maggie Grace didn’t wanna, right? Locke totally can walk. Wow. What.

Um Jacob burned fast? Aw, Ben. I forgot just how much I loved you in that last scene when you killed Jacob. You were SO good.

GOD I also love Richard Alpert. And Sawyer.

JACOB SAVE HIM. HAHAH I LOVE HURLEY.

OMG CHARLIE! WHAT. CHARLIE. NO. WHAT.

See, you should have never have left the island, everbody. Although Charlie does just die anyways. But still, he meets Claire. And Aaron.

Hey it’s Boone’s pen!!! Ew ew ew this is gross. Jesus Charlie, you nearly died by trying to swallow your stash?

Okay without commercials this is harder to keep up since it goes so much faster.

JULIET BE ALIVE. PLEASE. PLEASE. OKAY NOW STAY ALIVE. AAAHHHHHHH.

Oh, Hurley. You’re so awesome.

GOD I MISSED LOST.

Can new-Locke not die? … guess so. Huh. OH HES THE SMOKE MONSTER NOW.

Well that was a theory confirmed. Oh, man in black = black smoke.

Aw, I’m kind of sad Locke is dead. Like think about it—he’s just so awesome. Not Jocular Locke, but real Locke.

OH THE ASH KEEPS HIM SAFE. LIKE JACOBS CABIN. NEATO. Woah. Except not when you have shitty balance.

SHIT SON. Lost is playing fo’ real this season.

Awwwww Juliet I love you. SO much. Probably more than Sawyer does. OH please don’t die, Juliet. Don’t go off and do V. It’s not worth it. Oh come on she can’t die like that. Lost writers, really? REALLY? Now I’m just kinda mad at you.

Oh Juliet. Um, Sawyer? Jack loved her too at one point… kinda. Or well, you know.

AW Charlie don’t say things like that. Please.

Why isn’t Juliet on this flight? Whine. That can’t mean anything good.

NADIA! Okay, maybe Sayid would’ve been happier if he’d gotten to LAX. I also have no memory of Jin’s Rolex. Aw, Kate. And Charlie. ‘N everybody.

AWWW LOCKE YOU CANT WALK. LOCKE. BREAK MY HEART WHY DON’T YOU. God. Poor Locke. This is horrible.

Well, that’s one half. Not much learned, except smoke monster is jocular Locke. Who is also superman? And basically everyone should’ve stayed on the island. Also, Juliet. GOD. Why did they have to kill her with a crappy line like that? I mean, it just… ugh. I can’t even be properly sad about it. Except for Sawyer.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

LAX: Coherent Thoughts

Spoiler alert.


The part that resonated with me the most was the Locke/Jack interaction in the airport, because we've known since season one that Jack is a spinal surgeon who can make the paralyzed walk again, and that Locke is paralyzed with a spinal injury. How did it take us (or maybe just me?) 6 seasons to make this connection?

On a related note, I bet Juliet will still be the fertility specialist in this reality who helps Jin and Sun get pregnant, even if I can't figure how that connection will get made yet. And then somewhere, somehow, she'll be happily having coffee with Sawyer.

Other moments that resonated were mostly callbacks to season one-- Jack needing a pen to help someone breathe, Locke and his box of knives, Kate actually being true to character--

There were moments that were really emotional, too--Ben and NotLocke discussing Locke's death and sad life (ugh, so sad), and the way Sawyer looked at Juliet before she died, AGAIN, for the fifth time in three hours (counting the recap ep). UGHHHH.

Does anyone else think that maybe the Man in Black isn't the villain, that maybe he, like Juliet in season 3, just wants to go home?

Of course maybe not.

I'm confused. And not in a good way. I don't like how little I understand. I'm all for sudden plot twists leaving viewers in the dark, but I'd like to have a bit more material to theorize over and a bit less material making me just confused.

Oh--I know everyone says this, but I thought this episode really did highlight how absolutely fantastic both Michael Emerson and Terry O'Quinn are. Just saying.

LAX: Liveblog Take 1

Liveblog:

(incoherence is to be expected. Coherent analysis is in the next post--check that for theories, reviews, snarky comments, etc. )

Spoilers follow if you haven't scene the premiere yet, but first, the recap episode:

OMFG THIS RECAP EPISODE IS SO GOOD. I wish I didn't have reading and could totally focus on the rest of it.

OMG JULIET IT'S YOUR SECTION OF THE RECAP SECTION! I LOVE YOU PLEASE DON'T DIE AGAIN.

Daniel Faraday, you are a tragic figure.

I find young Eloise Faraday WAY more likable than old Eloise Faraday (although Matthew comments that old Eloisde Faraday is WAY more fashionable, in case you were wondering), but I don't know if it's on purpose on the part of the show or because of the different actresses.

Haha what good lost fan can't hear the sad lost music without crying?

JULIET I DON'T WANT TO WATCH THIS AGAIN.

NOW: THE SEASON PREMIERE:

Just shrieked out loud really loudly. Hope neighbors aren't home.

They're making us watch Juliet AGAIN? 3 times in an hour? SERIOUSLY I CAN'T HANDLE THIS, ABC.

"Looks like we made it" indeed.

To quote Hurley from way back, "Rose's husband is white. Didn't see that one coming!"

WHY IS DESMOND ON THE PLANE?!?!

Why are we looking at fish? WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?!?!?!?!

....no seriously, what?

JULIET! I LOVE YOU! .......Or it's Kate. Way to freaking psych me out.

What's going ON?!?!

Yay, Sawyer thank you for missing Juliet <3>

WHAT. IS. GOING. ON.

Oh no. If Sawyer tries to con Hurley I'm gonna...gag a little. Aw no, he's being sweet instead!

Flash...sideways?

Oh yeah, Sayid was shot! I forgot that in all the reality splitting excitement!

OHMYGODOHMYGODOHMYGODOHMYGOD PLEASE BE ALIVE PLEASE BE ALIVE JULIET JULIET JULIET JULIET JULIET

Re: Noise behind Hurley: I call it's Locke. And it's.....Jacob? Jacob. Okay. I wanna say I was close.

Oh right. Jin sucks in this reality.

BOONE YOU'RE BACK!

Boone and Locke, your relationship is so cute! ...I probably shouldn't say that considering how it ended the first time around.

Uh oh. I think this is not good.

The problem with Lost is that now that it's less about the characters and all about the plot twists, there's ABSOLUTELY NO WAY TO JUDGE which side is good and which is evil, if there even is such a distinction.

SAVE JULIET. RIGHT NOW.

Of course you died an hour ago, Jacob. That makes sense.

Jacob re: Ben: "An Old Friend"? Really? The guy who you wouldn't show yourself too, who you didn't stop the cancer of, and whose daughter you didn't save? I'm liking you slightly less. Or just brainwashed by NotLocke/Man in Black/Smoke Monster.

OH RIGHT. HURLEY CAN TALK TO DEAD PEOPLE. I FORGOT THAT.

Sawyer I don't approve of violence but I'm really glad your heart is in the right place.

OMG IT'S CHARLIE. Charlie...died? They did NOT bring Dom Monaghan back just to die.

Akriti posits that maybe when the plane crashed it extended Charlie's life, and this will be the beginning of "see how much better life is really when the plane crashed" ?

OMG YOU NEED A PEN.

OMG IT'S THE PILOT. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG.

This switching realities is so emotionally confusing.

Okay honey please don't be dead. OHMYGOD YES!!!! YESS!!!!!!!

Yay empowered Hurley! I like you!

Empowered Ben less so.

Oh my GOD Terry O'Quinn you're CREEPY SLASH INCREDIBLE.

HE'S THE SMOKE MONSTER! HOLY CRAP! OMFG!!!

WHITE ASH CONTAINS IT! IT ALL MAKES SENSE!

Michael Emerson, you are PRICELESS. Please always have that expression on. I am referring to the flabbergasted one.

Ohmygod Sawyer. The look on your face is like.....devastating.

Seriously I want Sawyer to call me blondie. Despite my not being blond. Right now, plz.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. NO. NO. NO. NOT OKAY. NOT OKAY. NOT. FREAKING. OKAY.

You were "supposed" to die? Charlieeeeee. I say that in a Claire voice, PS.

The guitar case is something that Hurley is going to use in the other reality....to do....something....

How. The frick. Is there another hour.? THAT'S RIGHT, I SAID FRICK INSTEAD OF FRAK. I'M THAT CONFUSED.

So Jack, your dad is on the island. You can deal. PS I bet you'll meet Claire at the funeral, somehow.

WHEN ARE WE?

Dude in red shirt, don't you know that's a bad fashion choice for this show?

The twitterverse seems to think these people are new Others, but I think we're just at a different place in time....thingy.

Kate you are one crafty fugitive.

Awww Sawyer that was adorable, even if it was vaguely Skate-ish. I guess I like you guys as adorable friends.

MILES. MILES YOU CAN SPEAK TO THE DEAD TOO.

Well now THAT'S not true (re: sawyer saying miles is the only person that talks to dead people). Hurley talks to dead people too.

WHAT?! "It worked." But how did she KNOW??

Who the FRICK are these people?

OHMYGOD IT'S JACOB'S LIST.

I'm feeling a little bit defeated at how little I get of what's going on. Like I'm not confused about anything concrete-I know where everyone is in both realities, how they got there, what they want, etc.--but I have no idea what's going on beyond that.

Oh Sunnnn. I forgot how much everything sucked for you before the crash.

Kate, that look on your face now is exactly how I feel. So confused and defeated.

Akriti has a theory about: Is Sayid being punished for all the people he tortured?

...Um, whatnow? Weird Island people, I defended you!

Haven't you heard, Jack, dead is dead? I don't believe that for a second on this show, but anyway...

CLAIRE! YAY YOU'RE BACK! I DIDN'T REALIZE I MISSED YOU THIS MUCH BUT I DO!

Oh! The kidnapped kids from season 2!

Oh if I were actually on the island I would be SO SICK OF THIS.

THE WHITE ASH REAPPEARS! YAY FOR ME CORRECTLY UNDERSTANDING SOMETHING, FINALLY.

Oh, and black smoke! Oh nevermind it's a beacon.

Can someone just EXPLAIN WHAT'S GOING ON.

That's so sad....yes that is the saddest thing I ever heard.

Man in Black what's off the island? WTF? WTF IS GOING ON?

OHMYGOD TERRY O'QUINN PLEASE *NEVER* MAKE THAT FACE *EVER* *EVER* AGAIN. IT SHOULD BE CLEAR WHICH FACE I'M TALKING ABOUT.

I don't understand. At all. I'm feeling very frustrated.

oh KATE. I like you this episode but don't take Sawyer away from Juliet even if she is dead in this reality, k?

...Locke you're being metaphysical. ...in a weirdly...comforting way? Is Jack thinking?

Oh Locke! You and your box full of knives.

OHMYGOD JACK IS A SPINAL SURGEON AND HE'S GOING TO FIX LOCKE?! OHMYGOD PLEASE LET THAT BE HOW THIS ENDS.

HOW DID WE NOT SEE THIS COMING FROM THE PILOT? LOCKE HAS A SPINAL INJURY AND JACK IS A SPINAL SURGEON. OHMYGOD ALL THE PEICES FELL INTO PLACE. *THAT'S* WHAT I WAS EXPECTING FROM THIS EPISODE.

...k.

Er apparently that's all for now. See following post for actual coherent reviews/theories etc. .













Pilot Post

There are approximately 6 hours until the Lost: The Final Season Premiere event begins, so I believe a pilot post is in order!

This blog is written by two (female) lost fans (we're considering going by "Steve" and "Scott", but that would involve figuring out who is which...) who used to watch Lost together when it aired every week. However, as Steve (okay, I made you Steve. You can deal, right? :-p) is currently abroad in France for the year, we're using this space to liveblog our reactions as we watch the episode separately, discuss, and then summarize thoughts/theories/predictions for next week. Awesome lost related links that we find will also be posted!