Thursday, February 4, 2010

Real Thoughts: LAX pt. 1 and 2

Bonjour! It's Steve, blogging form France. So after a very upsetting 48-odd hours in which my iTunes season pass ONLY DOWNLOADED PART TWO AND WOULDN'T LET ME GET PART ONE AND I HAD TO WAIT UNTIL THURSDAY TO WATCH THIS, I finally am caught up. Ahem. It was a stressful period.

Hm. So I have to say I was a little disappointed. I found these episodes to be, more or less, two hours of pointless exposition. The first hour, especially, I felt could have been condensed into maybe 20 minutes. A few camera shots around the plane, the scene with Charlie-- would we really have missed much else? I would've missed Arzt. And, according to nymag, I missed Frogurt, too.

I was also disappointed with the way they did Juliet's death. On principle, I hate the "i have something important to tell you but whoops I'd dead now" line. It just felt cheap and not worthwhile. It was just a little to cliché and neat-- she dies right after Sawyer kisses her? Meh. I guess part of it was that we saw her "die" (hit the bomb) about SIX TIMES before she actually died, so the emotion just wasn't there.

I agree with Scott that the best scene by FAR was of Locke and Jack in the airport. It was nice to see the show realize that these two characters are the ones we're rooting for, and hopefully this hints that the show will return to this. I kind of saw this scene as showing just how far Jack rose (right after the crash) and now has fallen back (the plan didn't work, trying to revive Sayid, etc.).

As far as the man in black not being a villain, I agree. I think the show has really moved past good and bad. I think that's what the black/white, good/evil divide will boil down to: there are no such harsh divisions in life. Your life has paths, and there are good things and bad things along each the way no matter what you do.

Another word on Locke. I think my live blog showed just how much I LOVE Locke as a character. But I will be incredibly disappointed if they do not give Real Locke some kind of closure. I cried through "The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham"-- Locke was just alone, back in a wheelchair, refused by all his friends. Then he dies, confused and alone? No no no. I don't want that to be the last time we see Real Locke.

Not incidentally, if Terry O'Quinn doesn't get an emmy, there are no gods, Egyptian or otherwise.

No comments:

Post a Comment